Mark Billingham was born and brought up in Birmingham. Having worked for some years as an actor and more recently as a TV writer and stand up comedian; his first crime novel was published in 2001.

Mark Billingham: Sleepyhead

Sleepyhead was an instant bestseller in the UK. It has been sold widely throughout the world and was published in the USA in the summer of 2002.

Tom Thorne Books

The series of crime novels featuring London based detective Tom Thorne continued with Scaredy Cat; and was followed by Lazybones, The Burning Girl, Lifeless, Buried, Death Message, Bloodline, From The Dead, Good As Dead, The Dying Hours and the most recent, The Bones Beneath. Mark is also the author of the standalone novels In The Dark and Rush Of Blood; as well as a series of children’s thrillers – Triskellion – written under the pseudonym Will Peterson.

David Morrissey as Tom Thorne

An acclaimed television series based on the Thorne novels was screened on Sky One in Autumn 2010; starring David Morrissey as Tom Thorne. Adaptations of both In The Dark and Rush Of Blood are currently in development at the BBC.

Mark Billingham: Comedian

Mark began peddling his particular brand of nonsense that apparently passes for comedy, in 1987. Since that time, he’s appeared on over thirty radio and TV shows; played every comedy club in the UK and bought a new hat.

Mark Billingham: Author

As a regular performer and MC at London’s world famous Comedy Store; Mark talks dirty, waxes lyrical about animal husbandry and takes the mick out of people’s shirts. Mark lives in London with his wife and two children. He is currently writing his next novel.

Book Mark Billingham Today